Booking choice: The small-group Freedom Trail history walk, with free cancellation up to 24 hours before. Book this Compare the options below
The National Park Service says it plainly: few public tours walk the entire Freedom Trail. Eleven of the sixteen sites sit in the first mile, so a 90-minute walk can honestly cover eleven and stop at Faneuil Hall. Three more sites and a mile sit in the North End; the last two are over a bridge in Charlestown. Each tour here has decided how far to go, and that decision is the real difference between them.
This guide takes the eight walks on this site in turn, states what each listing says about length, group size, meeting point and inclusions, and says who each suits. It does not quote scores or counts; it quotes the listings.
The quick answer
For a first visit with the story told well, the small-group history walk: about two and a half hours, no more than 16 people, Boston Common to Copp's Hill. For a short official introduction, the Freedom Trail Foundation's 90-minute walk of the first eleven sites. For the whole trail with a guide, the four-hour tour to Bunker Hill and USS Constitution, the only listing here that crosses the river. French speakers have a dedicated 2.5-hour walk; families and food lovers have the Beacon Hill and North End walks.

What is the best Freedom Trail walking tour overall?
The small-group history walk: about two and a half hours from Boston Common to Copp's Hill Terrace with a historian guide and no more than 16 people, covering the downtown and North End sites.
The listing describes a deep dive into the years 1760 to 1775 along the downtown and North End stretch, in a group capped at 16. It meets on the Beacon Street side of the Common and ends at Copp's Hill Terrace above the harbour, which puts fourteen of the sixteen sites on the route; the two Charlestown sites are not walked. Museum admissions are not included, which the listing is clear about. It is described as wheelchair and stroller accessible.
It suits a first visit that wants the Revolution explained in order and the afternoon free for the paid buildings or the walk to Charlestown.

Two and a half hours, a historian guide, no more than 16 people, Common to Copp's Hill.
Book thisIs the official Freedom Trail tour worth it?
For a short, well-organised introduction, yes: 90 minutes and one mile covering eleven of the sixteen sites, run by the Freedom Trail Foundation itself.
The Foundation calls Walk Into History its most popular introductory tour. It leaves from the Boston Common Visitor Information Center several times a day, covers the Common, the State House, Park Street Church, the Granary, King's Chapel, the Franklin statue, the Old Corner Bookstore, Old South, the Old State House, the Massacre site and Faneuil Hall, and ends there. Site admissions are not included. The Foundation's page describes accessible entrances and curb cuts along the route.
It is the right choice when you have a morning rather than a day, or when you want the official account before exploring alone. The North End and Charlestown are left for you; how long the Freedom Trail takes shows how to fit them in afterwards.

The Freedom Trail Foundation's own 90-minute walk, several departures a day from the Common.
Book thisWhich tour walks the whole Freedom Trail?
The four-hour Freedom Trail, Bunker Hill and USS Constitution tour is the only listing here that crosses into Charlestown and visits the last two sites.
The listing calls itself the most comprehensive tour of the Freedom Trail and says it includes all stops, actually visiting Bunker Hill and USS Constitution. It meets at the Robert Gould Shaw Memorial opposite the State House, runs four hours, lists the guide's tip as included, and states that you need to be able to walk three miles and that it is not suitable for wheelchair users. The focus, per the listing, is the people and the key events: the Tea Party, the Massacre, the Battle of Bunker Hill.
Book it if seeing the ship and the monument with a guide is the point. It is a long morning or afternoon on foot, and it ends in Charlestown, so plan the ferry or the Orange Line back.

Four hours, the whole line, Bunker Hill and the ship, with the guide's tip already included.
Book thisWhat about the tour that covers all 16 sites in 2.5 hours?
Boston's Freedom Trail: A Revolutionary Walking Tour lists all 16 official sites in a single 2.5-hour tour, with entry tickets to attractions and tips shown as included.
The listing meets at The Embrace memorial beside the Visitor Center, highlights the State House dome, the graves of Hancock, Revere and Adams, the Massacre site and the Old North steeple, and promises all sixteen sites in one tour. It also says it is not for people with mobility impairments and that video recording is not allowed. The inclusions line is unusual among these walks, so read the listing for which attractions it means before you count on a particular door.
Sixteen sites in two and a half hours is a brisk pace; it suits walkers who want the full count with a guide and are happy to move.

Is there a tour that tells the story in order rather than following the line?
Yes: the Full Revolutionary Story small-group walk, about three hours from City Hall Plaza to the North End waterfront, arranged chronologically.
The operator's own description is that the Freedom Trail's physical route is rearranged into the actual sequence of events, from the founding through independence, in a group of around 15 or 16 with a 15-minute break at Quincy Market and Faneuil Hall visited when open. The listing states it is not wheelchair accessible but is stroller accessible. No costumes, by its own account.
It suits people who already know the sites exist and want the argument of the Revolution rather than a walk past its buildings. It does not go to Charlestown.
The Revolution in the order it happened, in a small group over about three hours.
Book thisWhich tour is best for families or for adding Beacon Hill?
The Freedom Trail and Beacon Hill story walk: two hours, a maximum of 16, under-6s free, from Haymarket backwards along the downtown trail and up into Beacon Hill, ending in the Public Garden.
The listing promises a funny, engaging local guide, stops at Faneuil Hall, Quincy Market and the Old State House, weekday entry to the State House when open, then the brick lanes of Beacon Hill, which are not on the trail but are the city's prettiest streets. It covers about 4 km, says it suits all ages and fitness levels, and admits children under six free. Tips are not included.
It is the gentlest walk here and the only one that ends in a park. The family guide builds a day around it.

Is there a Freedom Trail tour in French, or with food?
Yes to both. A French-speaking guide leads a 2.5-hour walk from the Common to Copp's Hill for up to 15 people; a five-hour North End food walk pairs the trail with four tastings and includes Old North Church.
The French walk is conducted in French only, meets in the alley to the left of the Visitor Center entrance, covers the sixteen sites in its description while ending at Copp's Hill Terrace, and excludes museum visits; the listing calls it wheelchair accessible. The North End Flavors and Freedom Trail Walk runs about five hours and five miles from Haymarket to the Public Garden in a group of no more than 12, with fresh bread, a deli sandwich, pizza, coffee and a pastry, and the Old North Church entry fee included; it runs rain or shine and caters for vegetarians with notice.

Five hours, four tastings and Old North Church included, in a group of no more than 12.
Book thisHow should you choose between them?
Decide how far you want to walk with a guide, then how many people you want around you, then whether the paid buildings matter.
End point first: Faneuil Hall (90 minutes), Copp's Hill (about two and a half hours), the North End waterfront (three hours) or the ship (four hours). Group size next: the small-group, Beacon Hill and Revolutionary Story walks cap at 15 or 16, the food walk at 12; the official and all-sixteen tours do not state a cap. Inclusions last: only the food walk and, by its own wording, the all-sixteen tour include any paid door. Every listing here cancels free up to 24 hours before, so choose, book, and change your mind the day before if the weather turns. What the Freedom Trail costs has the door-by-door detail.
| Tour | Length | Group cap | Paid doors included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small-group history walk | About 2.5 hours | 16 | No |
| Official Freedom Trail tour | 90 minutes | Not stated | No |
| Full trail with Bunker Hill | 4 hours | Not stated | n/a: visits the free sites |
| All sixteen sites tour | 2.5 hours | Not stated | Listing says entry tickets included |
| Revolutionary Story walk | About 3 hours | 15 | No (Faneuil Hall is free) |
| Freedom Trail and Beacon Hill walk | 2 hours | 16 | No (State House is free) |
| Freedom Trail in French | 2.5 hours | 15 | No |
| North End food walk | 5 hours | 12 | Old North Church |
Frequently asked questions
Which Freedom Trail tour goes to Bunker Hill?
Of the tours on this site, only the four-hour Freedom Trail, Bunker Hill and USS Constitution tour walks into Charlestown and visits the monument and the ship.
Are Freedom Trail tours wheelchair accessible?
It varies by listing. The small-group history walk and the French walk are described as wheelchair accessible; the four-hour tour and the Revolutionary Story walk say they are not; the all-sixteen tour is not recommended for people with mobility impairments.
Do the tours run in winter?
The listings here are offered year-round on GetYourGuide, subject to availability on the date you pick; the Foundation's schedule reduces outside summer. Check the calendar at checkout.
Can I cancel a Freedom Trail tour?
Every tour listed here states free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund.
Ready to book
Choose your walk
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before on every option. Guided walks booked on GetYourGuide.

Freedom Trail History Small Group Walking Tour
- Guided walk from Boston Common to Copp's Hill Terrace in the North End
- Small group, capped at 16 people per the listing
- The downtown sites and the North End sites; the Charlestown sites are not walked

Official Freedom Trail® Tour (Walk Into History)
- Run by the Freedom Trail Foundation, the non-profit that looks after the trail
- Boston Common, State House, Park Street Church, Granary, King's Chapel, Franklin statue, Old Corner Bookstore, Old South, Old State House, Massacre site, Faneuil Hall
- Ends at Faneuil Hall: the North End and Charlestown are left for your own afternoon

Freedom Trail, Bunker Hill & USS Constitution Tour
- Guided walk of the entire Freedom Trail including Bunker Hill Monument and USS Constitution
- Meets at the Robert Gould Shaw Memorial opposite the State House steps, 24 Beacon Street; ends at the ship
- Focus on the people and events: the Tea Party, the Massacre, the Battle of Bunker Hill





